News Feed Discussions Hernia mesh repair site condition after a year

• Hernia mesh repair site condition after a year

Posted by Texas713 on June 15, 2017 at 10:25 pm

I need some help answering a few questions related to relieving pain long after hernia surgery. My background is that I had an open inguinal hernia surgery in April of 2016 on the left side. It was repaired by implanting a Bard keyhole mesh, 4.5 cm X 10 cm. The problems started right after the surgery. An outpatient procedure turned into a three-day hospital stay because of the pain. Pain persist at the original site of the hernia and in the left groin area. About a 1 cm section of the ilioinguinal nerve was resected before the mesh was implanted. In follow-up appointments, the surgeon confirmed that there is not another hernia. I have followed up with the surgeon three times in the past year and have seen a physical medicine and rehab doctor six times, three of which were for ilioinguinal nerve blocks. The nerve blocks helped a lot. The groin pain has decreased by about 50%. The problem that persists is at the original site of the hernia. I’ve also had two CT scans done. The surgeon said the CT scans did not show anything remarkable about the hernia site or mesh. He was at a loss as to what to do. He suggested doing an exploratory surgery to clean up any scar tissue and see if he could see any other problem. I declined since both the surgeon and the rehab doctor said there would be less than a 50/50 chance of improving my pain. The surgeon advised against taking the mesh out or replacing it with a biologic tissue because of the possibility of future hernias. I have lots of pain to the point that everyday life is not normal. I don’t have a normal sleep because I keep waking up with pain. I can’t sit for long because of pain. My new normal is miserable.