News Feed Discussions Learning about various techniques: Dasarda Technique versus Mesh surgery?

• Learning about various techniques: Dasarda Technique versus Mesh surgery?

Posted by BJFendler on October 2, 2015 at 11:32 pm

Hello,

I’ve had a small inguinal hernia, left side since September 2014. It is asymptomatic and doesn’t bring me any pain. Three doctors have examined me here in Oregon. Two at OHSU, one at The Oregon Clinic.

All three want to use Mesh. After reading data from doctors conferences and the plusses and minuses of mesh and post-op chronic pain or complications – I am about as likely to get a foreign body implanted in me, as I would to be shot out of a cannon! Not gonna happen. I’m a 7 days a week workout man; as I’m a fitness coach. My hernia doesn’t hinder my activity as a whole. I can feel pressure from it; it is small and only initially changed from being 1/4 of a golf ball when protruding from my flat lower abdominal/groin area, to now a stable 1/2 golf ball in size.

My hernia reduces easily when standing, laying or seated and never hurts.

However, I’m fully aware of the physiological aspects of hernias and they often do continue to protrude more so over time; it’s been 13 months since I initially noticed mine. I’m 5’9 and 161; fit, no medical issues and I sleep well.
    [b]
    I’ve recently learned about the Desarda Technique and spoken to Dr. Robert Tomas out of Florida about his no mesh repair; by using the internal oblique muscle to strengthen the pelvic floor, reinforcing the inguinal canal region. I’ve watched the video, read studies about it and so on. Here’s Dr. Tomas’ website]What do you all think – I would like to know. Thank you in advance for your help. 🙂

Dan

reflibn replied 7 years, 8 months ago 4 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • drtowfigh

July 6, 2016 at 2:19 am

Learning about various techniques: Dasarda Technique versus Mesh surgery?