News Feed Discussions Question for Dr. Kang

• Question for Dr. Kang

Posted by UhOh! on April 15, 2018 at 9:39 pm

I was reading about the Kang method in another thread, and in particular how the goal of indirect hernia repair is to close the internal ring and reduce it to the appropriate size. This raised a (possibly dumb) question, the answer to which may be painfully obvious: Is it, theoretically, possible to make the incision right at the external ring, move any herniated tissue back up the canal, close the internal ring and then sew the incision up, all without cutting any muscle?

Obviously I’m not a physician of any kind, and my frame of reference is diagrams on the internet, so I’m sure I’m oversimplifying at least a few things here but was curious none the less.

drkang replied 6 years ago 5 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • drkang

April 25, 2018 at 10:55 am

Hi Chaunce1234,

If I follow your definition of the hidden hernia, I have a lot of experiences of repairing the hidden hernias so far.
    Among patients who come to surgery with visible hernias on the one sides, the small inguinal hernias are often found on inguinal sonography on the opposite sides.
    If the patient wants, the hidden hernia on the opposite side is operated on at the same time.
    However, I remember that very few of these unknown small hernias caused discomfort, including pain.
    Of course, I think that even a very small hernia without bulging can cause pain but this does not seem to be that much.
    Thus, I need more time to find out whether the pain will disappear after repairing a painful small inguinal hernia.

• drkang

April 24, 2018 at 8:10 am
    quote Tilbis:

Dear Dr. Kang,