News Feed Discussions Can a hiatal hernia and a flank hernia mask each other by opposite pulling?

• Can a hiatal hernia and a flank hernia mask each other by opposite pulling?

Posted by Terry on September 10, 2021 at 3:06 am

Hello,

I have a painful bulge in my left flank that I can push in and out that my doctor diagnosed as a lipoma that I got an MRI of my lumbar spine for. Nothing showed up on MRI except moderate disc bulge, which is supposed to cause sciatica down my left leg but I don’t feel that that all. What I do feel is in intense pulling sensation in my left flank, like nothing is supporting my spine on that side. I also have the sensation that I can push my erector spinae muscle in and out. It also feels like there is an emptiness there. When I push in the bulge I feel so much better. My left flank constantly feels bloated and I cannot pass gas, only burp.

The muscles in my back are so tight that it feels like they are pulling away from my spine. And the more I take muscle relaxers and anti inflammatories the more they tighten, which makes me suspect a hernia because when you have a hernia your muscles tighten involuntary around the defect. Lumbar hernias are rare and if they are not in a discrete sac they can be missed on imaging. Especially since it happened directly after the following incident.

That same night I got the MRI I drank a bunch of water to get the contrast out or my system and ate way too much food. I had also gotten sick and vomited a few times a few months prior.

The night of the MRI I felt an intense pressure in my abdomen like I have never felt before and got explosive diarrhea all of a sudden. I also felt a sharp tear across my epigastric area.