News Feed Discussions Hernia questions

• Hernia questions

Posted by Scarletville on July 5, 2019 at 11:45 pm

I’m one year in from diagnosis and have had my operation cancelled twice within the past 2 months once due to the hospital having emergency’s the 2nd due to falling ill just before the surgery. Due to being a university student my window for surgery over the summer has basically closed and it looks like I may have to try wait till next summer now.

Q1
    I’m a man and my inguinal hernia has sadly been steadily worsening however it’s easily pushed back inside and I manage my symptoms by wearing a truss. Is it safer for me to wait as it’s easily pushed back inside ? So at night while asleep it’s fully inside and circulation should be good, most of the time during the day the truss also keeps it under control if not 100% inside.

Q2
    My surgery pretty much has to be an open mesh surgery which I have mixed feelings about however mostly I’m upset that the options for anaesthetic everywhere I look say general and local but my surgeon said he will not operate under a local as it would apparently require many needles and cause great discomfort only to be used as a last resort for elderly and I’d have to use a spinal if I didn’t want a general. I’m terrified of a general and the spinal for different reasons. Is what my surgeon said really the case and if so, what is the likelihood of needing a catheter out in while under a spinal? I also heard sometimes it’s required for general too which I’m not keen on.

Q3