News Feed Discussions Mesh-Free Tissue Tissue Repair Techniques

• Mesh-Free Tissue Tissue Repair Techniques

Posted by dropbear on November 11, 2016 at 1:33 am

Hi guys. Does anyone have knowledge of how the tissue repair approach of Dr. Towfigh or Dr. Kevin Petersen compares and contrasts with Shouldice for an ilingual hernia repair? Are they two-layer repairs? Four-layer? Is the cremaster resected? Shouldice may not be an option for me so am looking around. I live in the SF Bay Area but am very open to travel to get the best. Opinions welcome. I’m checking out a Dr. Jeff Gutman locally as well.

drtowfigh replied 7 years, 5 months ago 3 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • Chaunce123

November 15, 2016 at 2:21 am

Mesh-Free Tissue Tissue Repair Techniques

dropbear, this is from a fellow patient and I am not a doctor: Shouldice in Toronto is a good option if you can travel to Canada and afford the associated out of pocket costs. They have fairly strict requirements, do require a multiple-day hospital stay, encourage patients to immediately move around, and don’t generally do full anesthesia, all of that is part of their routine protocol. Cost estimates from I have heard without insurance are around $7000 USD total. Some things to keep in mind about Shouldice and a Shouldice repair: you must not be overweight, and you must have a reasonably obvious palpable hernia. If you are overweight they will prescribe weight loss and will not do surgery until you meet a normal BMI requirement, and if your hernia is not found on exam they will not do surgery.