News Feed Discussions Possible explanation for mesh problems (from a product standpoint)

• Possible explanation for mesh problems (from a product standpoint)

Posted by UhOh! on November 7, 2019 at 3:33 am

I work in marketing, constantly evaluating the problem-solving potential of different products and helping position them in the marketplace. So I might be seeing these things from a slightly different angle, but here goes, my hypothesis about why mesh products sound great in theory, but have so many problems in practice:

Mesh theoretically serves two purposes, it acts as a prosthesis and promotes healing through tissue ingrowth. The problem is, it hasn’t been OPTIMIZED for either purpose. From a product standpoint, that’s a huge issue; combining two conflicting, partial solutions is problematic. The same would ostensibly be true for the procedures used to insert that mesh.

If mesh is supposed to be a prosthetic, then shouldn’t it mimic the form and function of the tissue it replaces? Rather than something that shrinks and hardens, shouldn’t it be flexible and expandable, serving the purpose of damaged fascia?

On the other hand, if the purpose is a healing aide, then it should be thought of like a splint or bandage, right? That is, something that isn’t meant to be there forever. Since removal would be more invasive surgery, absorbable would seem to be the answer, but that only works if the procedure for insertion addresses the actual tear (per one of Dr. Kang’s primary operating principles). Otherwise, it would be like bandaging a deep laceration without closing it.

From this perspective, it’s easier to see the shortcomings of mesh from a product development standpoint. I’d be very interested to hear the opinions of experts in terms of optimizing a product to serve its intended purpose (instead of serving two somewhat conflicting purposes).

Good intentions replied 4 years, 1 month ago 9 Members · 19 Replies
  • 19 Replies
  • Good intentions