News Feed Discussions Post Op Experience :Laparoscopic Left Inguinal Surgery

• Post Op Experience :Laparoscopic Left Inguinal Surgery

Posted by Jim82 on April 9, 2018 at 9:01 pm

I’ve received a great deal of useful info on the various posts in this forum so I thought I’d start a post regarding my post op experience as it occurs so that it may benefit future readers Also it possibly allow me to get advice if there are any future issues. Note I am an engineer so my posts may be a little anal 🙂

Background: Atlanta, Ga, Late 50’s, 5′ 11″ 210 lbs active male, retired last year. Diagnosed with a Left Inguinal Hernia at a general physical a about a month ago. I’ve noticed a small lump for the last year of so but no real pain.

Poured over the posts in this forum, other forums and watched numerous videos. Submitted one post on Surgeon recommendation in Atlanta GA area. Used a combination of American Hernia Society website, General Internet searches and Amino (the free option) and settled on a surgeon, had the initial consult, asked 15 or so questions and decided to go with selected surgeon to have TEP Laparoscopic surgery with mesh.

Had the surgery today 9 Apr at 7:30 am.

From a prep standpoint other than spending the past week or so doing every manual labor chore I could think of my only real prep was to go on a stool softener about 3 days prior and ate a lot of fiber/vegies. I struggle with constipation so I generally am on a high fiber diet anyway but generally don’t require a stool softener.

Enough background and on to day 1 experience:

Surgery was pretty seamless. Had it at a Ambulatory surgery center. Showed up at 6:00, in pre-op at 6:40, General Anesthesia applied at 7:35, First recollection of being coherent again at 8:40, out the door at 10:00

No issues whatsoever with nurses, Anesthesia Dr, Surgeon etc . As discussed in the consult this Surgeon does not use a catheter, he had me void about 5 minutes prior to getting knocked out.