News Feed Discussions Questions concerning open surgery fro Direct inguinal hernia

• Questions concerning open surgery fro Direct inguinal hernia

Posted by David M on January 31, 2023 at 7:11 pm

All open surgeries seem to start about the same. It’s not until the external oblique is opened up that the different choices basically begin. (I’m a layman, by the way, and writing this to try to understand it better, so anything I say here is correctable.)

1) At the point that the external oblique aponeurosis is opened and the spermatic cord is lifted from the surrounding tissues, the first question for a Direct hernia, for my mind, is whether or not it is usually obvious enough to skip a dissection of the cord and whether this is a good practice if there doesnt seem to be an indirect hernia present?

2)When the transversalis fascia is brought into sight after the cord is lifted,is the transversalis fascia actually usually torn such that it’s just intestines covered by the peritoneum, or is the transversalis fascia just stretched?

Lichtenstein

3)in a Lichtenstein, is there any effort to close the transversalis fascia or tighten it before the mesh is placed? (I watched one video where this wasn’t done. In a video presentation by Dr Towfigh, i understood that she recommended this.)

4)What tissues will the mesh have contact with. Is it just mostly touching at the bottom and edge on the transversalis fascia, or will it also be touching and adhering to the rectus muscle or other tissues?

5)On the medial connection of the mesh to the body, how many stitches are placed and what are they stitched to?

6) It is suggested to leave a little wrinkle in the mesh because it will shrink. If that looseness isn’t there,how is it adjusted?

7l Before the external oblique aponeurosis is closed the spermatic cord will be resting on the mesh. What will prevent it from adhering to the mesh and causing it to loose mobility?