News Feed Discussions Varicocelectomy + sports hernia + pain + mesh

• Varicocelectomy + sports hernia + pain + mesh

Posted by Dome on May 4, 2021 at 8:34 am

Hey guys. I’m here to share my story and potentially reaching out to other folks who can offer advice. I’ve watched some of the fitting talks of Dr. Towfigh which led me here and I wish I would have found this site earlier. I’m also a fresh medical school grad from Hungary so it was even more frustrating that I couldn’t come up with a proper diagnosis by myself before doing the surgery. Anyway, here it is.

So in 2014 after working out for nearly a year I developed mild left scrotal pain. The urologist found a varicocele, got my varicocelectomy but the pain remained. He tried nerve blocks and ABs without any success, then eventually the neurologist said it might have been neuropathy and offered amitriptyline which I didn’t take. Without physical activity it got better so I kind of forgot about it and skipped the gym. I was still doing cycling, running and skiing and all was ok.