News Feed Discussions 3 Years since surgery Reply To: 3 Years since surgery

• PeterC

February 16, 2023 at 6:22 am

Hi Pinto,

I’m not sure I understand your question. At no point did I ever have a hernia. I had thinning and partial tearing of the inguinal floor which is common in sports hernias/athletes. At no point did I have a traditional hernia with intestinal contents bulging anywhere inside of me. I was still doing 8 hour rehearsals regularly just with a lot of pain. Dr. Brown did extensive palpation when I first consulted and there was no hernia to be found anywhere.

2. I have no idea if the steps are considered standard. It should not be the patient’s responsibility to become a doctor and study whether or not the doctor is doing standard/appropriate steps. I was a pro dancer which he knew, he was a doctor advertising that his main practice was to work with pro athletes for sports hernias/overuse injuries in the groin. After I asked all the important questions like will it affect how my body looks, how my muscles activate or are able to function and he reassured me of everything without any doubt – I trusted him and went on with the surgery. To be frank I did not care at that moment what the exact steps were I trusted that he knew what he was doing the same way people trust me when I judge a competition or teach a class. I explicitly said I am very holistic with my body and for him to do the absolute minimum possible that I would rather have surgery again than to have something done to me that is too extreme and causes irreversible damage/weakness. From my understanding he was going to repair the floor in a way that would not cause weakness and the only risk was some tightness and that it could tear again as I go back to work which I was okay with. I also had the understanding that he would close the external oblique whole and that the spermatic cord would be in the canal after the surgery. At no point did he mention that he would close the external oblique