News Feed Discussions Post Hernia Mesh Issues – Looking for next steps, thoughts, feedback?

• Post Hernia Mesh Issues – Looking for next steps, thoughts, feedback?

Posted by McD41 on November 30, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Hello, This is my first time posting and reaching out about my issues following my Hernia Inguinal right side repair roughly 14 months ago. I don’t want to go into a ton of detail on my reasons for getting mesh repair vs. talking about where I am at today. Let’s just say I had the right side hernia pop over a weekend, spent two weeks still not knowing what it was, running and exercising with it pushing out etc. Ended up in the ER after having the hernia push through more than I had experienced since it started, then the ER Dr.. telling me I needed to get it fixed asap, then onto hernia Dr.’s who argued that it was such a small hernia that it could wait, but after explaining I had an international trip coming up in 2-3 months, they directed me to take the mesh repair option.

Not knowing what I know now about mesh, I opted to take the mesh repair surgery. Post surgery 14 months ago while I was in the recovery room, I woke up to excruciating pain. The Dr.’s at the time said they had to do more irrigation than expected, then finally when my Dr. that did the actual surgery showed up he indicated that he had to apply a much larger area of mesh due to the hernia being significantly larger than expected. (Imaging indicated a 50 cent piece size hernia) turns out it was much larger when they got in there to do the work. They communicated to me that my immediate pain was due to the larger mesh used.

Mesh used was 3D Max Light.

Issues following Mesh repair (Post Op 14 Months and still ongoing):