News Feed Discussions Today marks 2 years since my surgery with Dr. Brown

• Today marks 2 years since my surgery with Dr. Brown

Posted by PeterC on February 7, 2022 at 7:08 pm

I’ll try to keep this short. Two years ago I flew out from Canada to Fremont, California with my family to get surgery with Dr. Brown. I was a professional dancer with persistent groin pain after activity but I still went on hikes, to the gym and I was still working as a professional dancer. The last few projects I did before this surgery were preparing for a Japan tour with a major musical artist (8 hour rehearsals each day) and auditioning for a major role in a Netflix production that has since been released on the platform. That same week 2 years ago I declined to perform at the Grammy Awards because I thought I was finally taking some time off to fix something that had been bugging me and I figured saying no to that one big project was worth it for all the ones I’d be able to say yes to when I finally recover.

Since having the surgery I’ve never gone back to dancing. I cannot run, I cannot lift anything, I cannot flex or activate my abdominals at all. I can’t walk properly either. I have erectile issues, ejaculative issues. I also have severe knee issues that I developed in these past 2 years after not having a single knee issue in 12 years of professional dancing because all the tissues in my groin are critically and permanently weak and unable to hold any tension or strength to support my hips and keep them aligned and so everything else is off as well.

Here is a before & after the surgery of my body. I am flexing as hard as I can in both pictures. The one on the left was taken a few months before Dr. Brown’s surgery, the one on the right was taken this week after 2 years of rehab.

https://imgur.com/a/HyF8Vz7