News Feed Discussions Athlete with bilateral groin pain – complicated – round 2

• Athlete with bilateral groin pain – complicated – round 2

Posted by PeterC on September 25, 2019 at 11:38 pm

Hey everyone, this is my second time posting on these forums – the first time my post was super long – this is a round 2 with updates.

Short reminder/summary: I am a pro dancer that had right groin pain start about 3 years ago. at first it was just a burning sensation that wasnt super intense but would never leave. eventually I started being in pain but after 2 MRIs , 2 ultrasounds and 1 nerve block all they had was a suspicion of tear on the right oblique & potential nerve entrapment when the nerve injection actually helped everything around that area loosen up and provided relief. I agreed to have surgery then because I was dealing with the best doctors in my city & I trusted them. at that point I had no idea of different treatments – they told me they did the same to all their NHL players. I had a neurectomy and double-sided prolene mesh placed on my right oblique – above the exit of the inguinal canal.

I thought everything would be good from that point on but unfortunately I started almost immediately having way more pain below the surgery site & I could feel the tissue not being solid (went from solid to soft/hole like). I had brought up that there might be a tear lower down before the surgery but they couldn’t see anything on imaging & said even if there was a small tear it would heal eventually. It never did. When I first went back to dancing – I couldn’t hold my pee for more than a minute it was unbelievably painful for months. There was insane amounts of pain and inflammation in my entire pelvic area on both sides. Nobody had any answers for me so I just danced on it despite having no quality of life and insane chronic pain as well as acute pain depending on the day/the movement.