News Feed Discussions Hernia Discussion Bard legal case

• Christopher

April 17, 2024 at 9:49 am

Hello currently in this lawsuit looking to speak with others who are involved with this case

• Good intentions

March 24, 2024 at 2:23 pm

Hello William. I am no expert on legal issues. But as I read this, the judge has decided that there is enough information available from the previous trials for the two parties to come to a settlement agreement. I think that the judge is making the plaintiffs’ representation decide if they really want to try each case individually, and the defendants decide if they want to take the risk of paying out a large number of individual settlements for each future lost case.

I think that the situation is unusual in that the products are still for sale. So if the device makers decide to take the chance on paying individual cases they are looking at a continuous stream of settlement payments, even past those of the plaintiffs in the class action. Each individual case will set precedent for future cases. On the other hand, the plaintiffs’ lawyers will have a huge amount of work in front of them, recruiting and training lawyers for the individual cases. I’m just guessing, I don’t really know how it would work. But that seems like the game of chicken that is being played.